Latest News

Motorsport Hall of Fame class to be inducted

For the first time, the class of the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame will be inducted during a gala ceremony at the 2020 Canadian International AutoShow.

As part of a partnership announced at last year’s AutoShow, the Hall of Fame’s annual event honouring the best from the Canadian racing community will be staged in the John H. W. Bassett Theatre on the 100 level of the North Building in the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

“Canada has a strong racing heritage, and the Canadian International AutoShow has taken extra steps to shine a light on motorsports and Canadian contributions to the sport in recent years,” says Jason Campbell, general manager of the AutoShow. “It is a great addition to the AutoShow program to be able to host the Motorsport Hall of Fame induction ceremony.”

The Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame announced the list of this year’s inductees in December.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce this year’s inductees,” says Dr. Hugh Scully, chairman of the board of directors of the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame. “Each of these gentlemen have made an indelible mark on the Canadian motorsport landscape and will be recognized for their great efforts and success, both in Canada and internationally. We congratulate them all.”

The 2020 class is as follows:

  • Greg Magwood, an accomplished driver, journalist, driving school instructor, speaker, conference organizer and advocate for safer driver training practices. He is considered a driving force behind the creation of the Hall of Fame in 1993.
  • Alan Berg, a retired racer from Calgary, who won a number of championships in his career and later moved onto running his own team, Scudara Fortia.
  • Robin Buck, also known as the “master of Mosport,” Buck is one of Canada’s foremost racing drivers and high-performance driving instructors.
  • Ed Hakonson, co-founder of the Canadian Snowcross Racing Association and a multi-race winning team owner in Canadian NASCAR racing.
  • Larry Caruso, a racer who competed in a wide variety of series and vehicles, such as drag racing, stock car, motorcycle and road racing.
  • Normand Legault, one of Canadian mostorsports’ most renowned owners, he became the youngest Formula 1 Grand Prix du Canada general manager at the age of 25 in 1981.
  • Bruno Spengler, an accomplished racer who has represented Canada in Europe for 16 years.

Racing fans and members of the public can buy tickets to the induction ceremony, which includes admission to the AutoShow on Feb. 15 at or at the door. For more information on the 2020 induction ceremony, visit