Latest News

National baseball finals returning to Durham College in October

Durham College is stepping up to the plate in hosting the top intercollegiate baseball teams in the country for the second straight year.

The 2017 Canadian College Baseball National Championship will run from Oct. 26-28 at Kinsmen Civic Memorial Stadium and Ritson Field in Oshawa.

“We are very excited to host a college baseball national championship for the second straight year,” says Durham College athletic director Ken Babcock. “Baseball is continuing to grow throughout the country and we felt it was necessary to establish an annual national championship at the collegiate level. Last year’s championship provided fans with three great days of baseball action and we expect the same this fall.”

Last year, six teams participated in the inaugural championship that featured the Fanshawe Falcons upsetting the St. Clair Saints 2-1 in the national final. It marked the first time in five years that St. Clair did not win a major tournament that they were in as they entered the event as the four-time OCAA champions, 2013/2014 OUA/OCAA champions and 2012 CIBA champions.

Other teams that took part in the championship included the John Abbott Islanders (Montreal, Que.), Holland Hurricanes (Charlottetown, P.E.I.), Humber Hawks and the host Durham Lords.

“We expect to expand the field for this year’s championship,” says Babcock. “With a national championship on the line, teams will be going all out on the field making for some thrilling action for fans to appreciate.”

The Lords are also hosting the 2017 PING Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) golf championships this fall. The four-round event will be hosted at Royal Ashburn Golf Club from Oct. 17-20.

The Lords have hosted award-winning and highly regarded national championships including men’s volleyball (1990 and 2003), women’s volleyball (1990), men’s soccer (1999), women’s soccer (1999), men’s and women’s golf (2001, 2002 and 2012), baseball (2009 and 2016), men’s basketball (2011) and women’s softball (2015).